Early Childhood Special Education


What’s the age of children served?

3 and 4 year olds.

Who is eligible?

If you are concerned that your child has a developmental delay or disability the school district will conduct a developmental evaluation to see if they qualify under one of the following 13 eligibility categories, including:

  • Autism;
  • Deaf- blindness,
  • Developmental Delay;
  • Emotional Disturbance;
  • Hearing Impairment; including deafness;
  • Intellectual Disability;
  • Multiple Disabilities;
  • Orthopedic Impairment;
  • Other Health Impairment;
  • Specific Learning Disability;
  • Speech-Language Impairment;
  • Traumatic Brain Injury;
  • and Visual Impairments, including Blindness.

What services are provided?

Early childhood special education and related services are required by federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and state law. The team develops an Individualized Education Program (IEP) that details the services and supports that the child will receive to meet the goals set by the team, including the family. Eligible children receive early childhood special education and related services with their non-disabled peers (in the Least Restrictive Environment), to the greatest extent appropriate.

How to Apply

Applications for early childhood special education are made directly to your local school district. Map of the school districts in New Mexico

For More Information

Visit NMPED Special Education.